Wheat is totally inGRAINed in my life

Chicken Noodle Soup

Chicken Noodle Soup (Photo credit: Kevin H.)

Imagine if you were from an Asian cultural background and you had to remove rice from your diet. Sounds nearly impossible, right? That’s what I’m feeling right now. I had been doing very well removing wheat from my diet until I got sick last Friday night. I’ve been battling a combination of bronchial and sinus infections ever since. I have noticed that since I’ve adopted a more hydrated attitude, I do get sick less often and when I do, it is over more quickly. Thank the detox for that! However, when I’m not feeling well, I really notice how I waiver back on to wheat.

On Saturday, I didn’t feel hungry at all. I was coughing, sneezing, boucing from warm to cold and food was the last thing on my mind. Until my husband asked me what I wanted to eat for dinner. The only thing I could think of stomaching was Lipton chicken noodle soup and some saltine crackers. Once I started to eat, I felt so comforted I was able to carry on a conversation with my husband’s best friend and even watch a little tv with them. Before that, I had been lying in bed, hoping to pass out.

Our comfort foods are usually chicken noodle soup when you’re sick and saltine crackers when you are nauseous. When we’re depressed, we turn to cakes and cookies. Hard to avoid wheat in all these things. My ‘detoxed’ brain was saying that I should be drinking some nice, fresh juices to load myself up with nutrients and fight off this sickness. I still think, ‘Why didn’t I do that?’ But even the thought of having them instead of my soup made me queasy. Wheat is so ingrained in our lives, it is hard not to fall back on old habits, especially when in crisis.

I’m not going to beat myself up over this. The little germies that waged war on me all week have done a good enough job already. Craving something comforting when you feel vulnerable to the extreme is only natural. It just made me stop and wonder about how heavily wheat has factored in my life. How emotionally attached I am too it on some levels. It is like the culinary equivalent of a hug from your mother when you aren’t feeling well.

What did your mom give you when you were a kid with a cold?

I wonder what mothers feed their sick children in Asian countries…maybe I should try somma that!

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on February 15, 2013, in Experiences, musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I totally relate! Definitely don’t beat yourself up. In the first few months of going gluten-free, I found the hardest thing was breaking the HABITS I had around food. HOwever, I suggest you plan and prepare so that the next time you’re sick, you have a gluten-free option. Since I’m sensitive to soy and a few other things, I find it nearly impossible to find store-bought soup that I can eat. And I really love soup – especially when I’m feeling under the weather. So I make my own in large batches – sometimes in advance – sometimes when I feel something coming on – and then have it ready to serve up for my sicky self. You can get gluten-free broth, throw some diced chicken, brown rice, carrots, celery, onions and garlic, spices (I like to add a dash of cayenne and/or chili powder to help clear mucus) and you’re good to go – gluten free! 🙂
    It may take time, but if you stay committed to GF – you get used to it and you find other comforts. Personally, I really like that – despite my limitations in what I can eat due to my sensitivities – I feel an odd sense of freedom now that I don’t have cravings or as much emotional attachment to food as I once had. I don’t rely on food to make me happy anymore – instead I’m just happy all on my own. 🙂

  2. What Asian moms feed to sick kids, far as I know, is rice porridge– rice cooked a long time with lots of water. It’s also a typical basic breakfast food. It’s easy to digest and is considered a good thing for people to eat when they’re sick. All sorts of things can be added according to your tastes and needs.

Leave a Reply

