No more wheat for me!

I am a big believer in the view that everything happens for a reason. I think there was a reason that my friend brought the book “Wheat Belly” to my attention. A reason as to why I appeared on Rogers Daytime Ottawa the same day as Dr. Beauchamp, who was promoting the Ottawa Health and Wellness Show and her key note speaker, Dr. William Davis. Why the couple I had booked for a wedding meeting the same day as the show canceled and why I was reminded of the show a few hours later via radio announcement. It was all to get me to the presentation by Dr. Davis on his book, “Wheat Belly” and the innumerable reasons why we should not be eating wheat.

Now that my initial year of the detox has come to an end, I was looking for something else to continue my journey. I am happy that I was able to commit to the challenges that I put into place for myself. I am also happy with the changes I feel in my body. I am a little disappointed, however, in the lack of weight loss I was expecting. Although my exercise track record hasn’t been stellar, I still get moving almost every day. Except for the month I went without sugar, it still crops up in my diet occasionally, but no where near the amounts consumed on average by people who are obese. So, why am I still considered obese according to the BMI? Something felt incomplete about my detox…

Myself and Dr. Davis, author of "Wheat Belly"

Myself and Dr. Davis, author of “Wheat Belly”

After having seen Dr. Davis speak, I have a feeling it may be due to my wheat intake and blood sugar levels. Even when I was working out 6 days a week and at my healthiest weight, I still had a little belly. I barely ever had sugar, junk foods of any kind, and still I couldn’t lose that extra bit of pudge around my middle. I did eliminate refined grains in my anti-inflammation month, but I did not read every label to make sure there was no wheat in everything I consumed. Perhaps that was my mistake?

I won’t get in to all the research about wheat and what it does in this particular blog. I would like to finish Dr. Davis book and have a better grasp on the knowledge before I start to share it with the world, via Internet. Sufficed to say that I am going to go wheat free and see where that takes me as far as all this built up fat stores. As I’ve previously mentioned, belly fat is NOT GOOD. I truly believe that I was able to release a lot of toxins with my Year of the Detox and form some better habits, but I need to focus more on my unhealthy weight now. The journey starts tomorrow.

Have you ever gone wheat free or are you currently wheat free? What differences did you notice?

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on January 13, 2013, in Experiences, Information and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I’m just doing a 6 week paleo challenge- no wheat OR sugar… it’s kinda crazy, but I think we will both see results. good luck 🙂

  2. I do know that for many people eliminating wheat is absolutely crucial, and that modern hybridized wheat has a lot of potential problems. However, I have gone wheat-free for periods of some weeks at a time, and I’m afraid I didn’t notice any difference in digestive health, energy level, or weight. It just doesn’t seem to be my issue. When I’ve tried to go without grains entirely, I felt very ill, and was much better as soon as I ate just a little sprouted bread or rice. Still exploring!

  3. I have never gone wheat free but I used to have starsh-free meals regularly like once a day for a while. Good luck with your new project. Usually when we have to cut one out completely, it help us to see other food that we never looked at before . Very mind opening 🙂

  4. I went gluten free a few times last year for several weeks at a time and I always felt less puffy. That’s the only way I can describe it. I don’t stick with it, but I’m having similar issues with losing the weight despite how much I work out. Maybe that is the key.

Leave a Reply

