When did I get so old?

It’s Friday night, I’m home. Yes, it’s true that would be the case at 8:30 on most Friday nights of my life. The difference is, tonight I have no plans to go out. None at all. In fact, I’m so tame I’m actually making maple pumpkin butter as we speak. Suddenly it occurred to me that only a few years ago, I’d be showering or doing my hair. Getting ready for the adventures that await in the night. Right now, I’m exhausted! A full day of work, come home, clean and do some headshots for someone and then do some dishes while I make pumpkin butter. I can’t even remember the last time I went dancing with friends! What happened?

I’m not suggesting that I would like to go out every Friday night, but I’m only thirty, I should go out once every couple of months. After this month, I think I will endeavour to go out every three months on a Friday night. Maybe it will keep me young. 🙂

Oye! It's Friday!

Oye! It’s Friday! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on December 8, 2012, in musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I feel ya, But the thing is – it’s also about the people around you. As a single approaching 30 girl I long to go dancing or sit and have fancy hair and a glass of wine. But now all my friends are with kids, or married, or both, or simply no longer around anymore.

    I am purging my closets of most of my glamour days or shoes, gloves, hats, and dresses as it seems life just doesnt support that anymore.

    But I dont like to think of it as being old. Because as with anymindset, you are what you think. So instead I see my time outside of the fancy glamour i onced parttok in as a time for self reflection, meditation and bettering myself.

    And perhaps it’s because i’m not with my besties, but i find going out to a dance bar with acquaintances, or even just a pub – not as enjoyable. I think that is because at least with your close darlings you can be anywhere and have an enjoyable time. ne feels the lack of their presence and wonders about having to form new deep relationships to fill the void of friends long since moved on to other areas of life.

    Consider that you are young and amazing and entering a new era of life that leaves some aspects behind and brings new ones in.

Leave a Reply

