Using the ‘stool’ stool and proper poop posture

Every time I say I’m going to use a ‘stool’ stool for my Year of the Detox, I hear the question “Is that a stool to display your poop on?” , followed by some light chuckling. No, that is not what my stool stool is for. Rather it is for the act of producing stool in an efficient and more natural manner. (It makes me feel better to talk about this using bigger words. He he he) Evolutionarily speaking, we as humans were built to do our ‘business’ from a squatting position. For our lucky male counterparts, they can do some of it standing up as well. But the bulkier of the business was meant to be done from a squatting stance.

Toilets have been around in one form or another since the Ancient Egyptian times. Because our fecal waste can quickly become hazardous to our health, we’ve invented ways to get it out of our sight as quickly as possible. Egyptians, Romans and other civilizations created means to get waste away from citizens as best they could. The first version of the flush toilet appeared in 1596 and was invented by John Harrington. Many people credit the invention to Thomas Crapper in the early 1800s, but he didn’t invent it. Crapper just happened to be in the plumbing business when the popularity of flush toilets was spreading, and unfortunately for him, going to the ‘Crapper’ or ‘taking a crap’ became a popular saying.  In many countries, people use standing toilets have lower instances of colorectal issues and there’s good reason. Several actually!

1. Going into a squatting stance relaxes the puborectalis muscle, allowing for easier passage because the rectum is straighter. This muscle is the one that you tense up if you wait too long before getting to a toilet.

2. The position allows you to go faster and empty your bowels more completely. This is important because your colon walls are all about absorption. Once you get the urge to go, the faster you can get it out, the better. If you don’t evacuate on urge, a phenomenon called fecal stagnation occurs, which is a prime factor in many different colon related diseases and issues. You can’t really see the words on the diagram below, but the last gray area is near the exit point and is where the majority of cancers appear, likely due to fecal stagnation.

3. Squatting protects the nerves for bladder control from being stretched or damaged.

4. Your thighs give your colon muscles help to prevent strains, similar to how they protect your back when lifting something heavy.

5. Squatting prevents your ileocecal valve from leaking while you go. This valve connects your small intestine to your large one, and the leak contaminates backwards into your small intestine. You want that valve to be exit only!

There has also been evidence to indicate that squatting helps relieve the strain that cause hemorrhoids and aids pregnant women to avoid pressure on the uterus. If a woman is looking to have a more natural delivery, squatting is also great preparation!

Now, I’m not about to go around squatting on toilet seats. I would likely fall and be very embarrassed explaining to whomever found me, what I was doing. Great Scott, It’s not like I have the ‘Doc Brown’ excuse and can wear my forehead bruise proudly. The closest that I can do for now is to use my stool stool. I bought a small step stool from the dollar store to use on the occasions when I am home and am struck for the need to visit my facilities. Honestly, it is taking some getting used to. Nearly thirty years of poor, poop posture training has my body not entirely sure what to do. I find myself having to start in the old posture and finish in the new, or I can’t get the job done. I certainly do recommend trying it if you can though. You may have a much more pleasant experience and in the long run, your colon will thank you for it.
A few words of caution though, before you try your very own stool stool. You need to try and get as close to the actual squatting position as possible, or it’s all for not.
For example, the following diagram shows how ‘not’ to use your stool stool. It needs to be higher and closer to the toilet. The website that I’ve obtained much of this information from, http://naturesplatform.com/health_benefits.html does not advocate step stools, but some of the suggestions would not be possible for me personally. I have knee and back issues that would make it dangerous to go in their suggested manner. If you are interested, I suggest you go take a look. Me? I’m going to work with my stool stool to the best of my ability. Would it be weird to end this blog with, “Happy Pooping everyone!”? Too late.

 

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on August 13, 2012, in Experiences, Information and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

