End of month 7 check in

Today is the last day of July, hence the last day of ‘Month 7: Eliminating Environmental Toxins’. In a perfect world, I could have spent the whole month at a lake, never using any chemicals and being away from the heavy amounts of car traffic passing by my door every second. Alas, my life deck doesn’t hold that in the cards right now so I did my best. I walked when I could, which wasn’t very often as it was incredi-hot this month in Ottawa. I used products that were phosphate and phthalate free. I would have loved to be able to use only the vinegar, baking soda and lemon for everything, but I didn’t plan my time well enough for that. Shame on me. I was going to write a whole list of reasons for this, but what is done is done. I still have time to improve on that one! I did use only vinegar, baking soda and lemon on my day to day cleaning though, so yay me! Wahooooos!

Obviously I haven’t really noticed a change in my health from a month of using more natural products, but I did notice a better feeling emotionally. When I use products I know are safer for the environment and myself, I get a sense of pride. I’m not poisoning myself, my family and the world around me. A little bit of mental detox is certainly better than nothing.

This month has been relatively easy on me, but I’m afraid I slipped right back into the sugar pit. Gah! It was so hard to climb out over the month of June. I had really trained myself to stop eating those sugary treats. I have very little will power and as soon as the month was over, my husband started buying those sugary treats again…I’ll admit, I bought some myself. He has an incredible sweet tooth and living with the mirror of your sweet toothy self can wreak havoc on your will power. Tomorrow is a new day, though. I will cut them out again. 100%. It’s too hard to say yes sometimes and no on others. This is excellent timing as I have a bridesmaid dress that’s a bit snug on the waist. Tee hee. Don’t worry Amy, it’ll fit, I promise!

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on July 31, 2012, in Experiences, musings. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

