And then, life happens

You may have noticed a small lack of posts from one, Ms Jennifer Walker. Alas, I know I have not been posting as much as I want to. I’d rather not get into all sort of reasons…otherwise known as excuses, tee hee. But sufficed to say that summer is wedding season and as a wedding photographer, I need to focus on my primary source of income. I have, however, been eating as much organic food as possible. I am bummed that I haven’t made it to a local market yet, though. I want to support local as much as I can!

I will also have to make a shift in my life as far as financials go, due to a recent purchase that I’m positive will create a domino

Freya. The goddess Freyja, in the woods.

Freya. The goddess Freyja, in the woods. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

effect of future purchases. Her name is Freyja. I have never been a dog owner before but something drew me to this dog. Like there was  a gravitational pull between us and all I could think of was, “This is my dog.” While waiting for my husband to come meet her, I was thinking about names and it was almost as though someone whispered into my ear, “Freyja”.

Now, for those of you unfamiliar with this name, it is pronounced ‘fray-ah’. The J is like the J in ‘jalapeno’…and not the Kraft cheese commercial version. She is a Norse goddess of love, fertility, life, death and also a Valkyrie. I’m not 100% sure why that particular name appeared in my brain, but I think it suits her perfectly. My poor husband will be surrounded with even more estrogen than before. Between me, our two female cats and now Freyja…I think I should buy him a new grilling set and a season of ‘Band of Brothers‘ or something!

All this to say that while my detox is a priority in my life, sometimes I can’t be ‘all in’ due to extraneous circumstances. I will have to be more picky about what is organic and what is not, since buying all organic and having a puppy at this time in my life is not completely viable. I’ve chosen not to beat myself up over it. Instead, I’m looking on the positive side of things.

1. A puppy means lots and lots of exercise.

2. I get to learn about incorporating enzymes into dog food and I will of course share this with anyone interested.

3. It may teach me more about balancing responsibilities with another little life, while making myself a priority. Cats are wonderful, but they are pretty self-sufficient, little creatures.

4. Less eating out at restaurants. Since she’s a female, to get her fixed will be pricey so we will have to cut even further back on how much we eat out. That will make it a lot easier to control what we put into our bodies.

While we weren’t shopping for puppies, I am sure that I was drawn to Freyja for a reason and that she will have a positive impact in our lives. We pick her up on Tuesday, so pictures will follow. 🙂

For those dog owners out there, did you find an increase in your health after owning your dog for awhile?

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on June 16, 2012, in Experiences, Inspiration, musings, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Dogs are great for fitness! I have two rescues – I wrote a post about them here: http://eatlaughlovesweat.wordpress.com/2012/02/04/my-favourite-running-buddies/
    They take me out for runs all the time. When she’s old enough to learn to run with you, buy a running leash and get your sweat on together 🙂

Leave a Reply

