Month 6: Eat Organic

English: Autumn Red peach. Français : Pêches E...

 

I know, I’m a few days late in posting this, but my husband and I have been trying to enjoy a bit of a staycation. We don’t really have the budget or the time to take a get away, so I thought that a staycation would be in order and so far it has been great. On Monday, we went to the Nordik Spa to relax followed by some sushi. Not organic but not too bad. Yesterday we took in the Mayan exhibit at the Museum of Civilization as well as an IMAX film. It has been great! Whenever we’ve eaten at home in the past few days, we’ve done our best to eat organic.

Now, this can seem like a tall order, especially if you are on a budget. Believe me, I know. That is why I do have a list that I got from Jillian Michaels‘ ‘Master Your Metabolism‘  book to share with you. It will help you to know what the most important organic purchases are. I’m sure different sources have different recommendations, but I have to start somewhere, don’t I?

Always organic foods include:

  • meat, dairy and eggs
  • coffee
  • peaches and nectarines
  • apples
  • bell peppers
  • celery
  • berries
  • lettuces
  • grapes
  • any foods that you eat a lot of (for me, this is my rice and almond milks, rice and quinoa)

Sometimes buy organic:

  • processed foods
  • onions
  • avocadoes
  • pineapple
  • cabbage
  • broccoli
  • bananas
  • asparagus
  • corn
  • mangoes

Don’t bother buying organic:

  • seafood
  • water (I have to admit I’ve never seen organic water!)
  • foods you don’t eat that often

Toxins and pesticides permeate our foods, especially the non-organic ones. So if I’m trying to detoxify myself, I will have to cut these out at the place I eat from the most, my home.

Wish me and my bank account luck!

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on June 6, 2012, in Experiences, Information, Monthly Rules and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

