Sweet dreams, brought to you by the fortune cookie

Photo of an open fortune cookie

Photo of an open fortune cookie (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One would think that by day 19 of a sugar free detox that cravings would start to dwindle. I’ve been pretty good about keeping my sugar intake on all levels at nothing, but there are a few slips I’m sure. Some I’m not aware of, some I only have a sneaking suspicion about. On Saturday night, I went to what I consider Ottawa’s best Chinese restaurant. It is called So Good and it is really aptly named. As you eat, you will find yourself saying, “Wow, this is so good!” and the laughing at yourself. It has been a great experience on the few occasions that I’ve been able to go over the past few years. If you live in the Ottawa area and have yet to try So Good, GO! It is phenomenal. Although I didn’t order anything sweet, I’m sure that there was sugar in most of the dishes my friend and I ordered. Then…there was the fortune cookie. Without even thinking, I cracked it open, read my fortune and ate it. It was only later that I realized what I had done. 19 days sugar free gone in a flash. Sigh…

I’m not going to beat myself up about it too much, I’m sure that some of what I’ve eaten since the beginning of the month had sugar in it that I didn’t even know about. However, this was the first time I ate something so OBVIOUSLY made with sugar. Then, that night I dreamed of buffets of sugary treats as far as the eye could see. If dreaming was reality, I would have gained 20 lbs. from the stuff I ate. Donuts, ice cream, profiteroles, chocolate and the list goes on. Since that was the first time I ate some obvious sugar, I wonder if it was a chemical reaction that triggered my craving dream or simply my brain acting on the sugar consumption. I was always convinced that sugar was  an addictive substance, but what level of me was reacting? Just based on the fact that I’m sure I’ve eaten some sugar along the way, I’m going to guess it was more of a cognitive or emotionally driven reaction.

So, I will continue along my path of no sugar…especially since my fortune was something along the lines of continuing down my path because it is the right course. I will not regret the fortune cookie, but I will try to be more aware of what I am eating and not literally shove things in my mouth before I realize what I am doing. I guess what I’m trying to say is that, although I thought I was practicing mindful eating, I now know I have more work to do on that front.

How about you? Do you think you practice mindful eating? Why or why not?

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on May 21, 2012, in Experiences, musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This is funny to me because I decided to stop drinking soda around Christmas and then one day without thinking I took a drink of my husbands root beer float!

  2. You raise a great point, here Jenn! So much of our eating behaviour is automatic – formed of long standing habits. Not to mention that we tend to use meals as a way to socialize – in which case our focus tends to be on the people we’re visiting with instead of what we’re putting in our mouths. Either way, only minimal attention is paid to what we’re putting in our bodies! Trying to make a major diet change makes you realize just how complex and involved (and psychologically driven) a behavior eating really is!

  3. Was it at least a good fortune? 🙂

Leave a Reply

