Sneaky Sugar Surprise #2: Salt

Shneaky, shneaky sugar

You may think this is joke, but I’m completely serious. Go into your cupboards and check the ingredients on your salt packaging. If you are using sea salt, then you are likely safe. There are a few other types of salt that are safe as well. But if you are using table salt…you may be in trouble.

When I first found this out, I could only think ‘Why?”. Why are they adding sugar to my salt? The answer I found was this,

Glucose is a sugar (the main sugar in corn syrup), and is added in small amounts (0.04%) to salt to prevent the potassium iodide from breaking down into iodine, which evaporates away (sublimes). Other potassium iodide stabilizers include sodium bicarbonate (baking soda), sodium carbonate, and sodium thiosulfate. ” –sci-toys.com

I suppose it does make sense, but you could always buy your salt in the form you need to grind up and not worry about this at all. Just sayin’.

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on May 9, 2012, in Information and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have both sea salt and table salt at home, and you’re totally right: sea salt is just fine, and there’s freakin’ sugar in the table salt. Whaaaa?

    I’d read somewhere that as you decrease your sugar, your need for salt also decreases — that somehow in your body, sugar and salt need to maintain a balance. Cut one down, and your need for the other also decreases. I wonder if, besides, preserving the table salt, this is the salt company’s way of keeping us hooked on sugar. Like, the salt and the sugar are in it together. (I swear I’m not a conspiracy theorist.)

Leave a Reply

