The last few days of sweet sweetness!

A pile of sugar.

A pile of sugar. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Looking at the calendar I am realizing that I only have a few more days to eat the terrible, sugary foods that I know are bad for me. It’s all I can do not to have Oreo breakfasts and Mars bar suppers! Ew, actually even now, that sounds gross! I know that I will feel much better once I can eliminate them from my diet without the initial symptoms of withdrawal. I am sure I’m going to have those, I’ve experienced them before. A few years ago I had to fight a candida infection and to remove many things from my diet. The list included anything with sugars, which are in almost everything. It was so bad, I literally couldn’t eat fruits and even some vegetables that had high amounts of natural sugars. I hope to NEVER have to do that again. Eventually you get tired of eating. No, that wasn’t a typo where I forgot to say what I was tired of eating, I was tired of eating, period.

Removing refined sugars from my diet shouldn’t be as hard as that was, so I guess I can count myself lucky. I still fully intend to eat fruit and I’m looking into allowing myself Stevia, but I can guarantee that for a few days into it I will be dreaming of cakes and cookies. The same thing happens to me when I go for too long without red meat, though I think that’s my body’s way of saying I need it…rather than ‘want’ it.

I am somewhat excited about this next chapter. I have been pretty good with my water intake, though I don’t always make the 8 glasses, I am very close and sometimes exceed it. My activity levels are still lower than I would like, but a lot of that has to do with pain…the rest with my will power. He he he. I have been including a lot more enzyme rich foods in my diet that I used to have. I feel strange if I accidentally go a day without raw. I think it may have only happened once or twice. With all these changes I was sort of hoping to see a reduction in my body weight or at least size. The composition is slightly altered, but the weight and therefore the BMI, remain the same. I attribute that highly to my sweet tooth. I love sweet. I could give up fast food and not miss it much, except for maybe the occasional poutine. Oh, the cheesy, gravy goodness! But sweets…they are my biggest weak point. I crave them after most meals. Sometimes even after breakfast! I know, I know, I’m terrible. Cutting out the sweet may allow my body to burn more calories and release more fat. Hopefully with a concentration on that fat that sits around my middle. Yikes, it is unpleasant to look at! Maybe with a loss of weight in that area, my abdominal area will be able to heal whatever is wrong with it. I know that it will definitely help with the candida in my blood. I know there are some bits lingering in there, I saw them when I had my live blood test. I’m also sure it will have an affect on my body as a whole, so I am pumped about that. I’m just not sure how I’m going to handle treats for movie nights.

Any suggestions for portable snacks I can sneak into the theatre? Any things that are sweet to satisfy my cravings?

PS – If you are in the Ottawa area, I will be on Daytime Ottawa on Rogers tomorrow sometime between 11 and noon to talk about last month’s detoxing. Tune in if you can!

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on April 25, 2012, in Experiences, musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Good luck on the no sugar challenge!

  2. Raisins are the best thing I’ve found for a serious sugar craving. Consciously eat them one at a time and you’ll be satisfied pretty quick. 🙂

  3. In Chinese medicine we traditionally recommend sweet vegetables like sweet potatoes or squash to help with sweet cravings. One possible treat is pumpkin pie or pudding, made in the traditional way but without sugar. It’s very dessert-like but so nutritious, and not a problem unless you can’t eat eggs (could be made with milk substitutes for someone who can’t eat dairy. I know that isn’t a portable treat to take to the movies, but it’s yummy!

Leave a Reply

