Month 4: Supply myself with supplements

Vitamins!

Vitamins! (Photo credit: bradley j)

Now that I have fortified my body with enzymes and will continue to  do so, I’m ready to add some supplements to my diet. Hopefully all the steps I’ve completed have prepared my system to make the best use of the vitamins and nutrients that I’ll be giving to my body.

I sat down last week with my dietitian to make sure I was on the right track. If you are planning to add supplements to your diet, I would suggest meeting with your doctor or dietitian beforehand. It really helps to have someone look objectively at your diet and see where you may be lacking. Based on my diet, this is what we came up with.

The rules for this month are:

1. Take at least one serving of chlorophyll every day.

2. Take the RDA for the following supplements:
Vitamin D (Min. 600 IU – 4000 IU max.)
Calcium/Magnesium (1000 mg / 310 mg)
Folic Acid (0.4 mg/ day for pre-menopausal women ONLY)
Omega 3 supplement

3. Take a probiotic course for the month.

4. Spend at least 30 minutes in the sun every day, unless it is raining.

RDA stands for recommended daily allowance, the amounts that I have put up are posted on the Health Canada site, but they vary from age and gender. For example, if you are a man, don’t touch a folate supplement. You don’t need it and neither do women who are post menopause. The amount that you need is absorbed in small bits in your diet. Women who are of child bearing age need it (I raise my hand) because folic acid has proven very important in preventing neural tube problems in babies…but more on that later this month.

Although I’m only posting today, I did start all this yesterday. So far, so good.

Do you take any supplements? If so, which ones and why?

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on April 2, 2012, in Experiences, Information and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I’ve been taking a Probiotic yoghurt drink every morning for the last four months. I started after a course of antibiotics left me with really bad heartburn.

  2. I take calcium and vitamin D as well as magnesium and a multivitamin / multimineral. I take these mainly because I cut a number of things out of my diet lately – including my primary sources of calcium – due to food intolerances.
    I’m curious – what kind of probiotic are you taking?

  3. I take so many supplements! My fiancé makes fun of me all of the time because I take them with meals and have one of those little pill cases so I can bring them around. The supplements I do take are under the advisement of my naturopath, as I would never just go out and stock up on pills and hope something good happens as that could be dangerous. In any event I take a multi-vitamin, B-complex, B6, a protein digestive, and Omega 3. I have chlorophyll a couple of times a day, the taste totally gross on you, I often have it instead of tea because it is peppermint flavored.

    good luck with the supplements. 🙂

Leave a Reply

