I put that s*** on everything!

No, I’m not talking about Frank’s Red Hot Sauce. Also, before you get all up in arms about the title of my post, the ‘s’ word in this case is SEED, not the naughty word for excrement. But I bet it got your attention. I feel like I’m in grade eight again, running for class president and starting my poster with ‘SEX…now that I’ve got your attention…” I have to say, it makes me a bit giggly.

The seed I am referring to is hemp seed. On my quest to include more raw foods and enzymes into my diet, I’ve stumbled onto things I never even knew existed. One of the first discoveries was the hemp seed itself. Since then I have expanded my food base with things like kelp noodles, raw almond butter and sprouted beans. I’ve found hemp seeds to be, by far, the most diverse and easy to integrate into my meals. I sprinkle them on almost everything I consume. Yogurts, salads, pastas…the list goes on.

mmmm...hemp seeds

You can see them above on the pasta I made last night. Some butternut squash sauce, a few mushrooms and loads of spinach can only be bettered by a little sprinkle of hemp, N’est pas? They don’t have too much flavour but they add a heartiness to a meal, especially if that meal is salad.

Hemp seeds are a super-food, for sure. They are packed with Omegas, Iron, Thiamine, Magnesium, Phosphorus and so much more. They actually have 110% of your daily intake of manganese in one serving! Why is this important you ask?  Although it doesn’t get a lot of press, manganese is actually an important enzyme activator.

Manganese activates the enzymes responsible for the utilization of several key nutrients including biotin, thiamin, ascorbic acid, and choline. It is a catalyst in the synthesis of fatty acids and cholesterol, facilitates protein and carbohydrate metabolism, and may also participate in the production of sex hormones and maintaining reproductive health.” (WHfoods.com)

Now, I’m trying to think if I’ve been feeling at all sexier this past month…Maybe I better ask my husband what he thinks. 😉

Manganese may play a role in the prevention and/or treatment of the following medical conditions: (WHfoods.com)

  • Allergies
  • Asthma
  • Diabetes
  • Epilepsy
  • Heart disease
  • Learning disabilities
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Myasthenia gravis
  • Osteoporosis
  • Premenstrual syndrome
  • Rheumatoid arthritis
  • Schizophrenics
  • Sprains and strains

I guess as I am preparing my next month with my dietitian I will mention that I am ingesting manganese fairly frequently. Manganese deficiency is pretty rare in humans, unless it is purposely removed from the diet. A lot of industrial workers who deal with metals can actually get poisoned from it, but that is from inhalation of the dust. So no worries there. I don’t think I’ve been within a hundred yards of a metal works in my whole life.

All this to say that you can find a new favourite food that may be providing you with more nutrients than you ever had before. When you are in the grocery store, your brain tends to look at the familiar items to put into your cart. Unfortunately for us, many a time that includes the processed stuff. I recommend trying to shop only the perimeter of the store. That way you have your basics covered and you are not spending aisle time amongst the processed foods. Unless, of course, you have a fabulous natural store in your neighbourhood. Then I encourage you to scan the aisles, finding new things that may become staples in your diet for the better. But always read labels. There are still baddies hiding in those aisles, depending on what you may need to avoid, like sugars or soy. They’re everywhere!

So go out, grab some hemp seeds and see what else there is that you can try! Then, “Put that SEED on everything!”

How about you, anything super-foods that you stumbled across and now put in your diet regularly? Please share, I want to add to my list!

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on March 24, 2012, in Experiences, Information and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. In keeping with the seed theme … I love pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds. Great for a snack or sprinkled on a salad – they also contain lots of great nutrients and significant amounts of protein!

    • Yay, I like pumpkin seeds, too. There’s actually some evidence that a specific kind of pumpkin seed is beneficial to men who are having prostate issues. My dad was taking some from a local grower and said they made all the difference. 🙂

  2. A little pricey and high-calorie, but nutritious, delicious, and convenient– individual portable packs of raw pistachio butter from our local food co-op.

  3. The best new food I discovered in the last two years is definitely quinoa. I use it like super-charged rice: cook it in a rice cooker or pot, use under a stirfry, or toss in some roasted veggies and lemon juice for a delicious warm salad option. It’s packed with protein, and is gluten free for anyone avoiding wheat. You do have to cook it to make it digestible, but it is a nice option instead of pasta.

Leave a Reply

