Completely raw meal #2

On Monday night I put together my second completely raw meal. I learned a bit from my first and added an extra course so we weren’t still starving afterwards. I made three dishes, a ‘Christmas Kale Salad’ , ‘Spaghetti Alla Baguetta’ and Chocolate Mousse.

I found that the salad’s dressing was overpowering due to the amount of balsamic vinegar it called for, the sauce for the ‘spaghetti’ was too watery and I should have blended the cashews longer. As far as the mousse goes…well, I guess it was also too liquidy. But the point was I tried, right? It still tasted good. I’ve posted the recipes below with a few of my personal suggestions in italics for anyone who wants to give it a go. If you do, let me know what you think!

Christmas Kale Salad (from crudessence.com)

Ingredients:

  • 2 kales hulled and roughly chopped

    My kale salad

  • 1 medium cauliflower cut into cubes
  • 2 red peppers cut into cubes
  • 1/4 cup of olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar (I would personally put 2)
  • 1 teaspoon coarse sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cumin powder
  • 1/4 cup of pine nuts ( I substituted almond slivers)
  • 1 pinch of ground pepper

Rub the kale with the salt to tenderize it. Put it in a bowl with the other ingredients and mix. The kale will keep sweating, so if you want to have a less crispy salad, prepare it a few hours before serving.

Spaghetti Alla Bagutta (rawfoodrecipes.com)

  • 1 package of kelp noodles
  • 1 cup of water (I would use HALF A CUP)
  • 1 fresh tomato or 4 sundried tomatoes, soaked

    Spaghetti Alla Bagutta of Jenn

  • 1/4 cup of cashews (soak them…for the love of raw, SOAK them!)
  • 1 garlic clove (or more)
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 red bell pepper
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • parsley or basil, chopped
  • cherry tomatoes
  • crushed red pepper

Rinse the kelp noodles in warm water, cut and drain and place in large mixing bowl. In a blender mix all the remaining ingredient except the basil/parsley and cherry tomatoes. Toss the cream sauce with the kelp noodles and remaining ingredients. (Make sure to blend the cashews until smooth!)

***A note on this dish. Make sure to warn people that kelp noodles are crunchy. I warned my husband because I know he has a thing about the textures of some foods and I wanted to make sure that he wasn’t thrown by the crunch when he was expecting soft. ***

Chocolate Mousse (crudessence.com)

  • 50g of coconut oil

    Mmmm, Chocolate Mousse!

  • 75g of cocoa butter
  • 1 1/2 cups of cocoa powder
  • 2/3 cups of agave nectar (make sure you get the RAW kind)
  • 2 tea spoons of vanilla extract
  • 3 1/2 cups of coconut milk (Or 3 1/2 cups of water plus 3 cups of coconut flakes (Maybe less…?)

Melt the cocoa butter in a dehydrator or in a bain-marie. While it i melting, in a blender put the water and the coconut flakes to make the coconut milk and filter (if necessary). Put the coconut milk in the blender with the vanilla, agave and cocoa powder. Add the melted oil and butter and blend briefly (I don’t think it should say briefly here, but I will have to experiment a bit) at a low speed. Pour the mix into a container and leave in the fridge for one to two hours.

So there you have it! A few new recipes to try out. I definitely say you should try kelp noodles. I bet they would taste fantastic on salad and they are full of nutrients. Best of luck with these recipes.

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on March 15, 2012, in Experiences, recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Thanks for all the great food ideas ; I’m definitely going to give them a whirl ;)) Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:)

  2. If you want a killer raw chocolate mousse/pudding, try this: 1 ripe avocado + 3 1/2 TBS unsweetened cocoa powder + 3 1/2 TBS (more or less) honey + dash or two of cinnamon. Whirl it around in the food processor. You don’t need to eat much because it is incredibly rich. High in fat, but good fat. You could probably use agave instead of honey, but I’m not sure of how you would reduce or increase the amount. I fed it to several people who had no idea it had avocado. They licked the bowls and spoons and would’ve eaten more if I’d had it.

  3. Ps I’m sooooo excited at the discovery of kelp noodles! I am dying to try this out for sure! Thanks!

  1. Pingback: Craving Shifts « Year of the Detox

Leave a Reply

