Raw burrito success!

Attempt number 2, raw burritos fantastico!

My second attempt was much better than my first. I amended the recipe to include less garlic and cilantro. The result was much tastier, indeed.

Jenn’s Amended Raw Burrito Recipe

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 1 clove fresh garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp of minced cilantro
  • 2 tsp fresh lime juice
  • 6-8 large lettuce leaves, I used romaine

You can also add the following to your tastes, I didn’t because of my own tastes and what was available.

  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper, diced
  • 2 tbsp yellow onions, diced
  • kernels from one ear of corn

Preparation:

In a medium sized bowl, mash the avocados. Then add the other prepared ingredients and stir them up well. Spoon 2 or 3 table spoons per lettuce leaf, then enjoy! Good for two people.

It was delicious, especially if you enjoy a good avocado! The original recipe, which I found online at About.com called for 3, count ’em 3, cloves of garlic and 1/4 a cup of cilantro. Yikes! It was terrible, just terrible. This one is much more palatable but if you find it too bland, you can always add a wee bit more garlic and cilantro. I say it is good for two people, but you will definitely need to have something else. It is a lot of avocado to eat for one person.

I didn’t take any pictures, but I also made a raw key lime pudding. The recipe is from the Raw Food Society of British Columbia and it was quite tasty. Even my husband thought it was good.

Raw Key Lime Pudding with tips from Jenn

  • 1 cup coconut meat (as I found out, you need only 1 medium sized coconut for this amount)
  • 2 tbsp coconut butter (again, I found out this is the SAME THING as coconut oil)
  • 1 cup macadamia nuts
  • 2 tsp. of water
  • 1/4 cup of coconut water (if you do it right, you can just use what is in the coconut)
  • 1 teaspoon of lime juice (I would double this if you really want to taste the lime)
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 drop of Stevia (optional)

Mix macadamia nuts, water, coconut water and lime juice in high powered blender. Once blended, add all other ingredients and blend until smooth. Refrigerate for at least one hour. My tips: SOAK the macadamia nuts in the water, coconut water and lime juice. I’m sure it would make them much easier to blend. As it was I spent forever blending them down.

Well, not too bad for my first raw meal. I think for the next one I will make a raw hat trick. I feel hungry.

Any suggestions?

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on March 6, 2012, in Experiences, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The raw burrito sounds good. I love garlic though so I might add a few extra nom nom… thanx for the recipe!! Do you have any healthy pizza versions?

Leave a Reply

