Enzymes are important, why?

That’s a question my husband asked me the other night. He knew I hadn’t had time to sit down and write a proper explanation for my blog, so I think it was his way of giving me that nudge to really sit down and do it. I’m sure once he reads this, he’ll let me know if that was the motive or not.

Month three is replenish enzymes month, but why? What are these things called enzymes? Well, it is an excellent question that I can answer based on my research. But, as I understand it, the world of enzymes still aren’t fully understood by medicine. They are acknowledged to exist and we understand their basic function, but with over 5,000 types of enzymes at work in our bodies every day, we’ve only begun to scratch the surface of the enzyme world.

Enzymes are catalysts that help with nearly ever process of the body, especially digestion. Think of them like the refurbishment workers. They take the materials that are brought into your body apart and then put them back together into a finished product that the body can use. When I first saw that there were over 5,000 types of enzymes it seemed to me that this was a bit of overkill, but there’s a method to this madness. The reason there are so many is because some enzymes only have one function. For example, let’s take the enzyme ‘pepsin‘. Pepsin resides in our gastric juices and only reacts to protein. Very specific. The thing about enzymes is that the only thing we know of that is able to produce them is a living body. This, of course, includes fresh produce, raw organic foods being the best source. But just so we’re clear, for the most part, the enzymes we consume don’t go directly to use in our system. Most of them are broken down as we digest. Then they are absorbed through the intestines as amino acids or peptides. Even though they are not absorbed directly as enzymes, studies have shown that a diet high in enzymes means a body with a high amount of enzymes.

If you had to state what the body’s basic requirements were, it would probably be water and food, right? Well, if we break the food category down, it might look something like this.

  • vitamins
  • minerals
  • fats
  • protein
  • carbohydrates

Like I said before, the way that we take all those necessities and convert them into products our bodies can use is through enzymes. That is how we convert our food into energy! I’m talking a lot about digestion, but your enzymes are involved with everything from breathing to getting hot ‘n’ heavy! So…heavier breathing, I guess. :p Every organ in your body needs enzymes and they enhance your body’s detoxification process as well. See where I am going with this?

There’s a lot more to talk about in regards to enzymes and their function in keeping you healthy, but I think I will leave you with just the sheer breadth of enzyme involvement right now. It is utterly incredible.

If we’re looking at amount of raw food in your diet, how does your enzyme count stack up?

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on March 6, 2012, in Information and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

