Today I discovered how not to make raw burritos

Thomas Edison built the world's first large-sc...

Image via Wikipedia

I attempted my first completely raw meal today. Let’s just say it didn’t turn out how I hoped it would. The original recipe I found online consisted mainly of avocados, cilantro, tomatoes, garlic, onions and lettuce. Sounds delish, doesn’t it? I thought so. I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only things I didn’t do was add the corn (cause I couldn’t find any) and I left out the onions because…well, I just don’t like them. There was WAY too much garlic and cilantro in the recipe. I took a bite of the first burrito and my mouth felt like it was on fire. After one bite, it was like the halitosis hall of fame club moved into my mouth. I couldn’t even eat them. 😦 My husband tried them as well. He agreed with me…definitely not edible. Thank goodness we live close to emergency shawarma. But I’m not giving up. I still have enough of everything to try again tomorrow, although I will have to get some more avocados. I think I will adjust the recipe to minimize the halitosis and make them much more edible. At first I was looking at this as a failure. My husband gave me an ‘A’ for effort, but I was still down on myself from the experience. Raw ‘cooking’ is hard! But I’ve mulled it over for a few hours and the optimistic side of my brain finally spoke up, reminding me of this great quote from a well known human being.

I have not failed, I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” – Thomas Edison

Well Tom, I have not failed either. I’ve just found one version that doesn’t work.

I did, however, find a way to make key lime pudding! I will post both recipes tomorrow after what I hope will be great success on my second attempt at raw burritos. Wish me luck!

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on March 5, 2012, in Experiences, Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Raw garlic sure is powerful stuff, as I found out when making gazpacho! You’ll probably want to use much less of it than you would with a cooked recipe.

    Looking forward to the key lime pudding recipe.

  2. Did it seem that the recipe was asking for too much garlic and/or cilantro? Can I ask how much they were asking to put in it? You probably already know this, but recipes are meant to be changed – if it seems like it’s too much/little for your liking, by all means change it 🙂

  3. I am interested in the raw burritos you were talking about. Why is it called raw?

Leave a Reply

