End of month 2 check in

report card 1944

report card 1944 (Photo credit: pjern)

I know I’ve already posted the general plan for March, but I wanted to do that first so anyone following could know the rules. Now I take a look back at Get Moving in the month of February.

What worked well:

1. I became more conscious of how much I sit in a day! It felt really great to take breaks and stretch during my day.

2. The yoga in the morning and night has limbered up my body. I’m not as sore as I used to be and I’m stretchier! (see the YOTD video page for the how-to!)

3. Though it’s far from perfect, I’m starting to build the habit of putting ‘me time’ into my schedule.

 

What I still need to work on: (notice I am not calling these failures, but things I still need to create better habits for)

1. I didn’t reach my 5 days of cardio per week goal. I averaged more between 3 and 4, which isn’t bad but not enough to really make the change in my life I that I am striving for.

2. Putting me into my schedule.’What? Wasn’t that in the first list of what worked well?‘, you say. Absolutely, but while I’ve started to think more about putting me into my schedule, I haven’t done very well application-wise. A work in progress!

 

I was being really hard on myself mentally about the fact that I didn’t make the cardio exercise goals this month. But ya know what? I did super well on the yoga and on the stretching. I also started thinking more about me. I’m going to give myself a B+ for this month. I don’t really believe I deserve an A, even for effort, but I can do with a a B+ for sure! Combining everything in the coming month should see a difference in body composition and the scale. Exercise alone is not enough, the food factor needs to be there as well. My mysterious lower abdomen pain is still present, but not as acute as it used to be. I think it has a lot to do with the water and maybe even the yoga.

Wish me luck and feel free to join in. That way, I can wish YOU luck, too!

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on March 2, 2012, in Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Something you might find useful in planning / executing all these amazing changes you’re doing is a popular model of health behavior change from health psychology. It’s called the Transtheoretical Stages of Behavior Change Model (by Prochaska) and it’s based on studies of how people who are successful in making changes in their life go about doing it. Generally people initiating change in their life go through the following stages: contemplation (starting to think about making the change), preparation (planning the change), action (making the change), and maintenance (keeping it up). Of course, these stages are fluid and you can go back and forth a bit – like when you refine your plan for making the change based on how it goes when you start making the change and encounter challenges. My point is – thinking about how to effectively make changes and how to maintain them are huge – and VERY important – aspects of behavior change that you are obviously doing through your planning and reflection here on your blog. So even if you don’t always achieve the “ideal goal’ you’ve set for yourself in the action phase of the behavior change – give yourself credit for the enormous strides you’ve taken towards your goals!!

Leave a Reply

