Blogging makes my bum numb

Family watching television, c. 1958

Image via Wikipedia

All the sitting down at the computer, typing away…It’s not just the blogging that does it. I’m talking photo editing, writing E-mails, scanning Facebook, twitter, etc., etc. People are spending more and more time with their bums glued to their seats in front of a computer. As a society, we continue to get progressively more sedentary. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my computer! Without it I couldn’t do all the things I’ve depended on for my business and love in my life. I’m totally dig being able to check up on my friends on Facebook. I love to edit photos of a wedding and make a bride’s smile just a bit whiter. Very importantly, I enjoy researching and posting blogs online to share with all of you. But if I don’t pay enough attention, I end up sitting for a long time and upon getting up I do feel stiffness in my muscles…and, uh, a bit of a numb bum.

I also happen to have a passion for movies. I love them so much I write reviews for Examiner.com about them. So for every two hour movie I watch, I can also spend an hour writing a review and uploading it. More time on my butt! If you aren’t a movie goer, I’m sure that you still spend some time on the couch watching tv. I only have about two shows that I watch religiously right now, but that’s cause I have to be on the computer so much I often don’t have time for any others.

An August study from the British Journal of Sports Medicine found that every hour you sit in front of the TV, you can slash your life expectancy by nearly 22 minutes. YIKES!!!!

So let’s look at the a week in the life of my bottom…

Hours on computer: minimum 35 hours/week

Hours watching a movie: minimum 2 hours/week

Hours in front of tv: minimum 12 hours/week

Sedentary hours: 49 hours/week of 98 waking hours

That’s a MINIMUM of 50% of my waking hours being sedentary and I’m sure that I’m doing even more sitting than that. Let’s be generous and say that my computer time doesn’t count in this whole loss of life minutes.

1 hour means 22 minutes of lost life. Therefore, I lose 264 minutes a week and 13,728 minutes a year. That works out to 228.8 hours or 9.5 days of lost life a year. CRICKEY! It doesn’t really seem like that much until you crunch those numbers. According to Statistics Canada, the average life expectancy of an Ontarian in 2005 was 80.7. If lose 9.5 days a year over my expected 80 years of life, I will lose 762 days or a little over 2 years. I don’t even want to know what that gets up to if I had included the computer time!

Excuse me, I’ve been sitting for awhile, I think I need to get up and stretch a bit…

…..

Okay, I’m back.

Now, of course there are many factors to consider in one’s life expectancy past how long you sit on your rear watching tv, but it’s worth thinking about the next time your fave shows come on. Stand up, go get a glass of water, do some stretching, if only on commercials. Those numbers are only based on the tv watching part of my mostly sedentary day. I haven’t even gotten into the computer portion.

So, what can we do about it?

1. Get up from your desk, your couch or wherever you are sitting to stretch every half hour. (Sounds familiar, right? Because it’s a February Get Moving rule!!)

2. If you work in an office, drink plenty of water so that you will have to get up and go to the bathroom…and also, you will stay hydrated!

3. Make sure to get in that 30 minutes of exercise as many days a week as you can, if not all of them!

4. Stand as much as possible. Like during your lunch hour. When you get home and you turn on the tv, keep standing.

5. If you need to talk to a colleague and it is at all possible, walk over to their desk instead of calling them or E-mailing them.

6. If it’s a nice day, pull the fire alarm…JUST KIDDING!!!

But seriously, research to confirm that sitting is bad for you health is coming out all the time. Get up, get moving and your body will thank you for it!

Anyone have any other tips to keep moving during the work day or in any other sedentary activities?

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on February 10, 2012, in Information and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I personally want to get a simple treadmill and when I have “tv/movie time” to do it while briskly walking on the treadmill instead of sitting on the couch.

    Thus distracted by entertainment yet moving at the same time.

    just one more way to add some physicality to my life aside from my crossfit hour daily.

Leave a Reply

