Month 2: Get Moving

Petra's Yoga Poses around the world

Ahem, definitely not me. lol

It may seem a bit strange that getting moving is a part of my detox, but let me give you a good reason why. Exercise increases your circulation and circulation helps to bring oxygen to every corner of your body. It also helps you to keep your heart healthy and burn fat. Burning fat is important for myself because I am overweight. I carry a lot of fat around my middle and that tummy flab can carry many toxins. You see where I am going with this? Yes! I am still trying to rid my body of toxins and part of making me a toxin flushing machine is to get moving!

So what are the rules of month two? No more waiting, here they are!

1. Whenever possible, do not sit longer than 30 minutes at a time.

2. Do yoga in the morning to energize my body and in the evening to relax it.

3. Do at least 30 minutes of cardio a day, at least five days a week.

Now, I’m sure some of you looked at the first one and had a million objections fly up in your mind. Yes, I know when you are watching a movie in a theatre it’s hard not to sit for longer than thirty minutes. I also know that if you have to drive a lot, it is hard too. This is why I prefaced the first rule with ‘whenever possible’. What does that mean? That means if you have an office job, stand up and do a little stretch every half hour. Take a little sojourn to the bathroom. Heck, subtly throw your pen five feet from your desk and stand up to get it while loudly exclaiming, “whoops! I’m such a klutz today!” I’m not asking you to break out into some pushups in the workplace, just move a little.

Looking at the second rule you may have thought, “Oh right, she’s some sort of yoga fanatic…well, I don’t know the first thing about yoga.” Here’s the part where I tell you…neither…do…I! That is why I enlisted the help of my fabulous and registered yoga instructor cousin Tamara Reasin! She and her husband, Tomasz, own a yoga studio in Carleton Place, Ontario. She’s studied yoga for years, including practicing in India. But don’t worry, I’m not keeping her all to my self. 🙂 I went to visit her a few days ago and filmed her helping me with the poses. (With the help of Quinte Video, thanks Ken!) I’ve already posted the Year of the Detox Wake Up Yoga session on you tube. Take a look and try out some poses. Don’t feel bad if you think you’re going to look silly, once you see me, you’ll feel much better! He he he Soon, I will post the evening poses so that you can see those ones as well. I already did the wake up yoga first thing this morning and I have to say I felt a lot less tense during the day. Thanks Tamara!

Yoga is great, but the gentle yoga that I’ll be doing for now doesn’t really get my heart pumping. This is why I’ve put in the cardio. I don’t want to go crazy and push my body beyond its limitations right away, so I think that 30 minutes at least 5 days a week is a good start. I mean, if I had a personal trainer like Bob Harper or something, I’m sure my body could handle it, but it’s just me and the little will power I can claim to be my own. (You’ll notice I said Bob and not Jillian Michaels? Cause although I think she’s uber awesome, she scares the crap out of me!) As I research getting fit and moving, I may find that I can have a better goal, but at least it’s a starting point.

So there it is. What do you think of my month 2 plans? Doable? Sustainable? Let me know if you try those yoga moves!

If you’re in the area, check out my cousin Tamara’s yoga studio at www.yogastation.ca !

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on February 2, 2012, in Experiences, Information and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I definitely think doable as a start off. Are you planning on advancing this plan at all for later in the month? or sticking with exactly this for the four weeks?

    I ask because a. its a good idea to start off slow when starting out but… (always a but) b. The body adapts to movement quickly. keeping progress on physical changes is largely to do with muscle confusion (ie: changing up what you do every two week for example) plus c. you can always attempt options such as testing out long form low impact cardio vs HIIT cardio which takes a bout 20 mins a day.

    Also there isnt much in the realm of strength training. Which I do know this is a detox but as you said creating a healthy body is all part of the detox. And although yoga does lengthen and tone it – if you are doing gentle yoga you wont really be increasing muscular strength and thus increasing metabolism.

    I was wondering if you have considered the option of developing a body weight movement plan (perhaps calistehnics as well) to help move and tone your body. and then implementing an A&B plan for daily switching to keep muscle memory from developing.

    I know – a lot of questions for me. But mostly i want to sort of plant some thoughts in your head for this month to try and help you be super successful with your detoxing and especially for continuing progress after this month!

    • That IS a lot of questions. lol I haven’t decided yet, but I will definitely have to consult with someone before I try to create a more structured plan. The major goal is to get the blood flowing and the pump the lymph around my body. Eventually, I will work up to creating a workout routine which does address the other things you’ve mentioned, but this month is to get the ball rolling, above all else. Cheers!

  2. Yay yoga! So good! My co-worker and were talking about bringing in our exercise balls and alternating between those and our chairs (we both have back and neck issues). It would be great way to keep moving

  3. I often do a yoga routine(wii Fit) before my work-out and find that it really streches my body and makes the work-out easier. That routine does look easy enough for the morning, I might give it a go!

Leave a Reply

