Month one in review, I’m totally hydrated

Statue of Rocky Balboa, with the museum in the...

Eye of the hydration tiger! grr...rrrr

I thought that I would sit down at the end of month one and feel like it went by so fast, but it crept along like a confused turtle. As far as numbers go, I don’t have much to show for it. I do, however, have the overwhelming feeling that my body is on the road to health. How do I know this, you ask? Let’s look at a short list:

  • my lips are less dry
  • I’ve had less headaches
  • my body tells me it is thirsty more readily, even if I’ve had 8 glasses that day
  • my digestion feels much smoother
  • my skin is breaking out a little bit, releasing toxins I’m sure have been trapped for awhile
  • my sinus problems have lessened
  • my skin doesn’t dry out as quickly (though, it’s still winter, so it is somewhat dry)
  • I don’t have to go to the bathroom so often

I’m sure there are a few other subtle changes that I haven’t noticed, but there’s a couple of goodies in that list. If I took a live blood test now, my blood cells would likely be much plumper than they were last summer. I also truly feel like I’ve created a strong habit. At the beginning of month one, it was a struggle to get my 8 cups in. Now, it seems almost effortless. That is really a reward in its self. I also think its fantastic that I seem to have reawakened my thirst mechanism. It was quite sluggish before, but now it’s like there was a change of the guard. Let’s all welcome beta team, rested and ready for action!

I am a little bit nervous for month two. It will take a more significant amount of planning to get in all the activity that I am aiming to do. But whenever I get overwhelmed, I’m going to look at back at my successes of month one. And if that doesn’t work, I’m counting on my friends, family and readers to boost my spirits.

Near the end of January, I went on Rogers Daytime Ottawa to talk about the Year of the Detox and the importance of hydration. I’ve manage to upload the segment if anyone is interested. View it on Year of the Detox’s You Tube. Please, check it out and let me know how you think I did. 🙂

How about you? Have you been trying to drink more water this month? If so, have you noticed any changes?

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on February 1, 2012, in Experiences. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I watch the video and you were great Jenn! Good luck with the next step, I think you’ll do great 🙂

  2. Congrats on making it through the month – keep it up! I love that being hydrated helps keep my lips in better shape.

  3. much congratuations on month one! im looking forward to reading your plan for month two! very exciting!

Leave a Reply

