Keeping your reusable water bottle clean

One of my recent posts was about how it is safer to use reusable water bottles that are BPA free rather than constantly buying plastic water bottles which are full of BPAs and bad for the environment to boot! I still stand by that post, but I neglected to mention one of the problems of using these bottles…bacteria! One of my fellow bloggers from nobodywilldoitforyou replied with this caution after reading “The dangers of bottled water, the BPA problem

I got diagnosed with having the bacteria of this [BPA] in my stomach. Nasty business! Similar feeling to a stomach ulcer. Good warning that a lot of people don’t take serious!

She couldn’t remember the name of the bacteria, but it does sound like nasty business. I tried to find the name of the bacteria on the net, but I was unsuccessful. The best I could find was the statement of a doctor on the subject, “Olusola said the earliest study on the dangers of BPA in plastic water bottles was in 2003, with another study in 2007. She said that small amounts of the bacteria caused by BPA may cause problems but it has never been fully validated and research is still ongoing.” from bscenemag.com . If anyone has any further information, I’d love a link to it.

Even if you are drinking water out of a BPA free bottle, bacteria can still be dangerous. Not bacteria from the bottle or from the water, but from you. Yes, you and your backwash. Ew, he he he. It’s completely natural but something we need to be aware of. This is because once the bacteria is out of your mouth it can grow into things that are dangerous to your health.

You see my problem...lol

 

How to keep your water bottle clean

1. Use a stainless steel bottle with a wide brim

If you have a choice, the best you can get is glass, but if you’re going for metal, go for stainless steel. Stainless steel is naturally antibacterial. Also, try to go for one with a wide brim. That makes for less crevices were bacteria can grow.

2.  Clean with a vinegar solution

That is how I clean my water bottles. I personally don’t like to use soap and water. It leaves a film and sometimes a taste, yuck! But if that’s the way you roll, I don’t mind as long as you’re cleaning those bottles and rinsing well. There are also a few bottle cleaning solutions on the market. I’ve never used any, but if you have a favourite, please share!

3. Invest in a bottle brush

I have yet to do this myself…I know, such a bad role model! But believe me, I will be getting one in the next week! That way, you can in to those bottle bottoms with more than just a quick rinse.

4. Wash the outside

It can be easy to forget this step, especially when you are concentrating on the bacteria on the inside. My husband is often guilty of this. The inside of the glasses he washes are sparkling, but often there is some gunk on the outside. Germs and bacteria can thrive on the outside surface of the bottle, so don’t forget it!

5. Use some baking soda and your new bottle brush

If your bottle’s brought the funk, smell-wise, put a few table spoons in. Then just stir it around with your handy-dandy, bottle cleaning brush and let it sit overnight. Then you can rinse it out and it will smell like new!

Some people use bleach, that scares me. Considering even trace amounts of bleach can be harmful to you, I wouldn’t risk it. Some people also use the dishwasher. If you do, it can be a good way to keep your bottles clean assuming they are dishwasher safe. I don’t have one and even if I did, the glass bottle I am currently using is very long. I’m not sure it would work too well, but for me, it’s a moot point.

Have you been keeping your bottles clean? Do you use a method that I have neglected to mention?

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on January 28, 2012, in Information and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I agree that vinegar is the way to go for bottles but also for kettles, APAP machine tank and I use it to clean my espresso machine as well. It’s perfectly clean with no taste or nasty chemicals left in it. 🙂

  2. Hi there, You have performed a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and individually recommend to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this site.

Leave a Reply

