Pacing your water intake? There’s an app for that

Image representing iPhone as depicted in Crunc...

Image via CrunchBase

While it is essential to get in the minimum eight glasses a day, I am starting to find it harder to properly pace myself. After reading an article linked on the comments section of my blog by Sandi about a woman in the UK drinking herself to death with water, I guess I should be a little more clear! Although, I really think that the average person is highly unlikely to do so, this particular woman was 5’2″ and desperate to lose weight. She was told by her weight loss counsellor that the more water she drank, the more weight she’d lose. Not drinking all day at work and then downing 4 litres in a two hour period while watching tv, her body was unable to handle it. She got a massive headache, threw up and eventually her brain swelled which was the cause of her death. Click this Daily Mail article to view more about the occurence. I’d like to shove this whole thing into the “lack of common sense” category, I mean really…would you wait until the end of the day and combine all three meals into one for your daily calorie count? Oops, wait, people do that every day! lol But only because we have such high calorie, yet inexpensive foods like pizza, where it’s easy to spend all your days calories in one sitting…yet I digress.

Let’s talk a bit more about spacing out your intake. I have come to the conclusion that I will have to give myself water drinking guidelines.

For example:

1. I will drink a full glass of water within 20 minutes of waking. This shouldn’t be too hard to do, since my body will be dehydrated from no water all night before. I am generally thirsty in the morning.

2. I will have consumed at minimum half my daily intake (4, 8oz. glasses) by 1:00 p.m.

3. I will try to drink at least every half hour. This is going to be the toughest, but I have found help for this! (see below)

4. I will not drink any water past 9:00 p.m. to avoid it disrupting my sleep.

As I mentioned, the toughest of these will be #3, but there’s an app for that! Actually, there are several, at least that I’ve seen for iPhone. Right now, I’m looking at two different ones in particular. Water Your Body Lite by Foware, which is great for tracking and graphing your water intake and Hydrate Yourself by Will Winder, which not only tracks and graphs, but also allows you to set water drinking reminders. I’m thinking I will like the Hydrate Yourself better, but I just downloaded them so I will have to get back to all of you on that one. Also fun, you can go and read about why he created the app on Will Winder’s Blog. Water Your Body Lite seems to be using the same equation I mentioned in a previous blog to help people set what goals they should have. But again, there is no way I’m going to make it to 15 glasses a day!

Daily Water Free by Maxwell Software was another app that I tried to work with. Unfortunately, when I downloaded it every time I clicked on it, it would just shut itself down. I also tried to work with Waterlogged by Shadel Software Inc. but apparently I don’t have the correct operating system on my iPhone. Sigh.

Anyone else had/have trouble tracking their water consumption? How did you solve your problem? Is there another better app (that’s free…I’m cheap :p ) that we could try working with?

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on January 5, 2012, in Experiences, Information and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Hey Jenn, I’m glad you found my app! Those reminders were the main reason I made it so I hope you like them as much as I do. Nice wrap up of the options and good luck with you’re goals.

  2. Im excited to try this out on my ipod! thanks for sharing and thanks will for creating! and please post follow ups on your usage and if you notice it being helpful!

  3. Usually I get my 4 bottles on the counter to help me keep track and I also log it in MyFitnessPal. If I don’t do that I lose track of it 🙂

  4. Try out WaterMinder – simple and quick way to log the water intake and get reminded throughout the day to drink more. http://waterminderapp.com

Leave a Reply

