Month One: Let’s Get Hydrated!

English: Horse drinking at Quy Water The relat...

Image via Wikipedia

Happy New Year to each and every one of you! Did you enjoy some libations last evening? I know I did and I definitely need to rehydrate today…definitely! The large amount of alcohol I consumed last evening really got me thinking about readjusting the rules for this month and adding in a ‘tipsy’ proviso. If you’ve read THE PLAN section of my blog, you know that every month I will have a new set of rules to reach my overall monthly goal.

For January, the overall goal is to get hydrated and here are the rules:

Rule #1

Drink at minimum eight 250ml (8oz.) glasses of water per day.

Rule #2

Drink an extra 250ml (8oz.) glass for any exercise that I do throughout the course of the day. (for every 30 minutes at least one glass)

 Rule #3

Drink an extra 250 ml (8oz.) glass for any caffeinated beverage, alcoholic beverage or fiber supplement that I take throughout the course of the day. (including coffee or colas)

 Rule #4

Anything other than pure water does not count as part of my fluid intake.

To me, hydration is the most important part of achieving and maintaining our health. There are many reasons for this, many of which we will discuss a long the way, but just stop and think about it for a minute. The human body can last for over 30 days without any food. Heck, Ghandi went 21 days! It just reverts to fat and nutrient stores, which it uses in times of famine. Famine used to happen all the time, all over the world and still does today in many countries. How long can the human body go without water?

Here is a chart I found online at http://www.survivaltopics.com/ posted by Ron Fontaine.

Temperature          Days

120 F / 48.9 C             2

110 F / 43.3 C             3

100 F / 37.8 C             5

90 F / 32.2 C                7

80 F / 26.7 C              9

70 F / 21.1 C               10

60 F / 15.6 C               10

50 F / 10.0 C               10

 

Keep in mind 10 days is an absolute maximum, in the shade and if you’re otherwise healthy. On top of that, this amount of dehydration could mean severe long term effects including impaired functions of many of your organs. Scary.

I’m sure that although month one seems like it will be relatively simple, there will be challenges. Does anyone have any suggestions for making this process easier for me and other Year of the Detox participants?

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on January 1, 2012, in Information and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’ve had all sorts of struggles with very serious/rapid dehydration. Not just being thirsty, but ending up in the hospital with a IV drip to rehydrate me over the course of 24 hours. Not surprisingly, I’m somewhat fanatical about drinking enough water, and my experience should not be taken as normal. I’ve also gone overboard and actually managed to over-hydrate a few times, which is tricky to do!

    It is a good idea to get blood work done periodically for many reasons, but certainly one reason I get it done so we (doctor & I) can make sure I’m not diluting any water-soluble nutrients to my detriment. I had a particular problem with low sodium & potassium, so was in the weird spot of being advised by my doctor to use more salt. The only person EVER to get that advice, I’m quite sure.

    As you ramp up water consumption, you’ll be in the bathroom more, but your body should adjust and you’ll get comfortable with higher amounts. Don’t drink so much that you have (sorry to be graphic, but …) totally clear urine and go all of the time – that can create problems.

    And, on a lighter note, if you like to sleep through the night, don’t drink too much close to bed time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

