Stop feeding your kids crap!

Out today, amid all the boxing day shoppers, I stopped for lunch at Harvey’s. (For the non-Canadian readers, this is a Canadian fast food restaurant chain.) I love their onion rings. I’ll admit, not the best choice, but I had a crave on and it would be awhile until I was home. Anyways, on the way in I was followed by a family that consisted of a father, three boys and a girl. The father was of average height and weight, but the kids…oh, the kids!

Here’s the breakdown:

1 teenage male, about 5’8″, overweight with dark rings of skin on his neck

Overweight

Image by just.Luc via Flickr

1 male, approximately 12 years old, overweight

1 male, approximately 9 years old, no discernible chin

1 female, approximately 7 years old, wearing a shirt that allowed her belly to hang out in the cold winter air

As they walked in from the parking lot, the three younger children all had big issues trying to step over the ridges of snow. Much more than they should have. This all may sounds incredibly judgmental, but these observations can be important. For example, dark rings around the neck could actually be acanthosis nigricans, which is a sign of an insulin level issue such as diabetes. The lumbering movements across the parking lot is a lack of energy. Noticing that the father is not overweight means it might not be genetic. (Though the mother was not present, so we can’t know for sure.)

They were right behind me in line and none of the children ordered anything healthy. Only soft drinks, fried foods and hamburgers. On top of this, none of them ordered off of the kids menu. A seven year old ordering an adult meal? I call health shenanigans!

I ate near them, just to see if the kids would actually finish their meals. Don’t worry, I was very inconspicuous.  ; ) They finished everything they ordered and the teenager went back for a refill of his soft drink. I couldn’t believe my eyes. I didn’t eat all my onion rings just in silent protest and I never finish my soft drinks. The kids moved even slower as they walked back to the car, stuffed as can be with food that won’t give them the energy they will need to complete their day.

Even as I write this, I can hear my sister in law’s voice in my head with her favourite comment, “You don’t know what it’s like to have kids.”, or a variation thereof. Let me be perfectly clear. I don’t care if people think that since I don’t have kids I don’t know what parents have to go through. It was still all I could do not to walk over to that father and say, “By the way, there is a Subway down the street.”.  I know it’s the holidays, but all the more reason to give your children a lighter lunch after all the crap they assuredly ate Christmas Eve and day. A treat now and then I grant you, but these children were all seriously overweight. And I mean seriously overweight. It made me sad to see how unhealthy these children were. That’s not to say that if they were skinny that they would be healthy, but if they look that unhealthy on the exterior, imagine if we took a look at their interior health. Shudder!

Yes, yes, you can bring up as many excuses for the father bringing his incredibly overweight children to Harvey’s as you want to.

It’s the holidays…I don’t have time to cook a meal…It’s cheap….

This is what I say.

It’s their health and habits for the rest of their lives (and they are already overweight)…There’s a subway down the street with much healthier options…Home cooking is way cheaper, so is only letting them order off the kids menu!!!

So what do you all think? Am I off my rocker? Is there a valid reason for bringing your unhealthy and overweight children out to a fast food restaurant and allowing to order from the adult menu? Yes, that last question was a bit snarky, but feel free to give me a valid reason nonetheless. Cheers!

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on December 26, 2011, in Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I would tend to agree with you. I am all for a treat now and then, but if it is to the point where your child is learning life long bad habits…and in a society where self worth is based on how good you look and how skinny you are my heart breaks for these kids. I am not trying to be all doom and gloom here, I am simply saying that they will now have to reteach themselves healthy eating and living in order to live long healthy lives.

  2. Funny story about fast food drive thru 🙂

  1. Pingback: Things You Should Know: Eating at a Fast Food Restaurant « Just Josh

Leave a Reply

