Support from your doctor

I went to see my doctor this morning. I was so nervous. Revealing my health plan to the person who is technically in charge of my health history file. It actually went really well. She seemed almost as excited as I am about this journey. I asked her for a few tests so I can make sure that I’m on the right track for me and also so I can measure my internal success.  I highly recommend that if you want to join me on the Year of the Detox, or any other detox, that you consult your doctor. If you can, you should also enlist the help of a registered dietician. If your doctor is worth their salt, they will make sure you have all the help you need. Like mine, they may also be excited about you starting your way towards a healthier lifestyle. After a brief review of my plan, my doctor seemed very impressed and actually said my steps were something that everyone should do in order to improve their health. Yay! I would have gone on to do my Year of the Detox with or without her help (unless she said it would be damaging), but it is so nice to know she’s rooting for me too. Without any prodding from me, she admitted that these steps may help to resolve my lingering health problems as well. That is my number 1 ‘why’. I’m literally beaming right now!  I know I would like to trim down a bit, but if my internal measurements are improved, that is what really matters.

If you are interested, here is a list of the tests I asked my doctor for.

  • Glucose (blood sugars)
  • Creatinine (kidney)
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • ALT (Liver)
  • Bilirubin (Liver)
  • Lipid Assessment (Cholesterol levels)
  • Ferritin (Iron)
  • AST (Liver)
  • Vitamin D
  • BUN (Urea measure)

These tests will not only tell me if I am deficient in some nutrients, but also how my organs are functioning. A healthy person is not just the sexy one with the killer abs on the cover of the magazine, they are the one with the happy organs sitting behind those hot abs. All in all, a great day.

Ps – One more good thing that came out of my visit today was finding out that my blood pressure is a healthy 116/76. Do you know your blood pressure numbers?

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on December 17, 2011, in Information and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I can’t wait to be inspire and follow your progress! All the best wishes! and I hope to be able to follow along and change my lifestyle as well!

  2. Well you are definitly more organized than me! Good plan 🙂

Leave a Reply

