Forming new habits, I’m on the right track!

Cover of "The First 30 Days: Your Guide t...

Cover via Amazon

Only a few weeks left until I embark on what could possibly be the biggest adventure I’ve ever consciously undertaken! I know that you could consider every day an adventure, but a lot of us are just along for the ride. We might be existing, but not all of us are living.  Is that you? I want to live my life to the fullest and to do that, I need to successfully implement some change in my life.

I was looking at a blog by Ariane de Bonvoisin called “First 30 Days“. (PS – She’s obviously in the right profession of helping those around her, since her name is French for ‘good neighbour’!) She proposes that anyone can change their life in 30 days by forming new habits. Ariane offers 30 steps for most any change you are looking to create in your life.

Along with these changes, she has what she calls he 9 Principles of Change. Number 8 really resonated with me, because that is what I feel I am doing right now with my blog.

“People who successfully navigate change are not alone; they surround themselves with people who can help, who have the right beliefs and skills. And they create an environment that supports their change.”

By writing this blog I am opening myself up to all the help and sources the Internet has to offer. I am surrounding myself with people who can help me, even though I haven’t met them. What a fantastic age we live in! I’ve also gone about creating a knowledgeable support team of people I know directly. I’ve asked for dietary advice from registered dietitian Meghan Barnes here in Ottawa. I will also be speaking with my doctor about the plans I have.

I encourage you all to do the same. If you can, speak with your doctor about the plans you have to improve your health. See if they can recommend a registered dietitian. (Note: My dietitian told me to make sure I mention that a nutritionist and a dietitian are not the same thing. In Canada, dietitians are regulated and licensed by the government, but nutritionists are not. Unless you live in Quebec that is.) Make a list of people who can help you. Are you missing anyone? Am I on it? hehehe.

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Information, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Meghan Barnes RD

    Actually Jenn, Registered Dietitians are not licensed by the government, we are licensed by our provincial colleges. For example, here in Ontario it’s the College of Dietitians of Ontario. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

