New Year’s Resolutions

I know, I know…it seems a bit early to be thinking about New Year’s Resolutions. We haven’t gotten past eating our way through massive holiday meals, indulging in a few too many drinks and having trouble buttoning the pants that fit just fine at the end of November. However, lots of magazines have already started to look at people and their New Year’s resolutions.

For example, I was leafing through “Success Magazine” and saw a wee stats breakdown on people’s resolutions. A study by the Barna Group looked at resolutions made by certain genders, of certain ages in certain tax brackets. You can probably guess what resolution had the highest percentage of people claim it? That’s right, it has to do with losing weight and getting fit. 30% of women from the baby boomer years who earn over $75K have losing weight/getting fit as their resolution.

Well, I am a woman…but not from the baby boomer years and I am nowhere near the $75K income bracket, but of all the choices, that is the resolution that rings truest for me. My Year of the Detox is not about losing weight specifically. In fact, when I plot out my starting point, I don’t intend to include weight. I will however include more important numbers like my waist measurement, my cholesterol levels, etc. I want this resolution to truly be about regaining health and not be pigeon-holed into how much a difference the scale says I’ve made. My success will not be based on the number between my big toes, but the way I feel.

Do you have any New Year’s Resolutions that you are committed to maintaining this year?

About msjenniferwalker

I'm a Jenn of all trades, as long as they are creative and fulfilling. I'm an actress, writer, photographer and all around social person. I love to learn, travel, meet new people and have new experiences.

Posted on December 7, 2011, in Information and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. my new years resolutions are to try an achieve a chinup, get back into the 200lb deadlift group that i was 4 months ago at my gym, and beat my personal record at heavy squat (165 lbs plus)

    triming up physically is always a constant battle but I like to make that my lifestyle goal vs my new years eve resolution.

Leave a Reply

